Canon EOS 5D Mark II:Is The Video To Good To Edit?

Ever Since I decided to buy the 5D there has been a little thought lurking in the back of my mind.  Will I have to build a new computer to edit the video. I can do just about any thing I want with still images.

What I always seem to want to do is push things too far. Like I made a HDR panorama out of about 60 raw exposures. And I managed to make a 26 GB super High res(3,648X2,763)Film from my photo’s on sony vegas pro but of course they don’t make screens big enough to play it even if I could find a media player that could handle it.

This brings me to the issue of the Canon Eos 5D Mark II According to Luminous Landscape

“I can report from my one day of working with the 5D MKII’s video files is that they are seen by various programs as H264 and that the data rate is an astonishing high 47 Mbps (That’s 47 million megabits per second). Put another way, a 15 second clip is recorded to memory card as 80MB of data. And then when opened into the Apple Intermediate Codec this expands to 169 MB (megabytes) for 15 seconds worth of video in editing.”

It goes on to say the output can’t be played without dropped frames on his notebook with 2 gigs of ram.

Thankfully I found this site’s post on editing the Mark II’s video but then he’s using Final Cut Pro which is made by some jerkass proprietary hardware outfit that I cannot afford to use.  He edits some of that really kinda nice looking  yet utterly crappy  Vincent Laforet footage.(I really don’t think it was a lack of time issue it’s just he’s a professional image maker and not an artist(Obvious from footage)).

Well so I suppose if I could make that 26 gig clip in Sony Vegas 8 I oughta be able to at least manipulate my Mark II footage. Perhaps I need to get on of those pro video cards like the new Nvidia Quadra CX

Quadra CX=Really Expensive Pro Video Card $1,999.00

Quadra CX=Really Expensive Pro Video Card $1,999.00

But maybe not. I just can’t wait to start looking at video the way I look at  films. Like something expressive not just a recording medium.

So here’s some big ass pictures

HDR pano 10 HDR images- 19645x3767

HDR pano 10 HDR images- 19645x3767

4 images, beavers 010_08_05_s 067And7more - 7852x3835

16 HDR images Rutledge falls 19598x3960

Pano From 16 HDR images Rutledge falls 19598x3960

Oh And Here is my second and third video clips

Made from footage shot with my recently stolen Canon S3 IS

Music by the swans

One response to “Canon EOS 5D Mark II:Is The Video To Good To Edit?

  1. Thanks for the link, flames and all.

    I enjoy the crap out of your blog, thanks for all the HDR insights.

    proactively • maxing out my credit cards to pay for me macintosh • peter

Leave a Reply

