27,000 megapixels

It’s weird how, at least on the web, one can’t really see the advantage of spending a billion dollars on a camera, or a lens or lights or models. Ok so models and lights I can see and a decent lens is important but before I spend a lot more money on equipment it should seem pretty apparent that it will open up new realms over expression.  I remember when I bought my DSLR.  I almost felt overwhelmed.

It’s been a year and I’ve taken ten of thousands of pictures however I don’t think the change really improved the quality of my photographs but then what’s quality.  I personally don’t want to take photographs that are anything close to what I might see in a magazine.

I’ve had occasion to talk to some photographers and I’ve been to some stores and talked to the counter people and these people struck me as some of the most uncreative individuals I’ve met.  It seemed like all they wanted to do was bludgeon you over the head with their tenuous grasp of some imaginary sense of quality.  Its like they are the tools of the technology and not the other way around.

But then why take a photograph?  Why spend the time?  Most photographers seem to be like scrapbookers.  They spend huge amounts of time(and money) making objects that no one will see.  Who wants to see another sunset or aunt Jill’s page full of stickers.  I’ve ended up in the mental hospital a few times and while art therapy can help one pass the time it doesn’t seem to lead anywhere.

This issue is much bigger and amorphous than I supposed.  I’ll continue later.

FLOW

FLOW

More!

More!

5 responses to “27,000 megapixels

  1. I agree with you.
    Just read the photography message boards, no sooner is model X released, they are drooling over what features X+1 will have.
    They chase after mega pixels as if more means better.
    When you consider the cameras the early photographers had and the suburb images they produced.
    In any case how many shots posted are free from the “benefits” of Photoshop?

  2. All things being equal, a better camera will make a better picture. That is not to say the camera makes the picture, only that a properly equipped photographer can usually take better pictures than one who is less properly equipped. Of course, this begs the question of what is it to be properly equipped. For me, I need a flash. And something to stick my camera in so when I take it into the ocean, it doesn’t get wet. I’m just starting as a photographer and am very happy with the results I am getting with my dSLR. But I know I have a long way to go just to be comfortable shooting manually on land, to say nothing of the need to do so underwater. Take a look at my pictures if you like.

  3. I like advice on HOW something works. So, I want to know that a 9-diaphram shutter has x-effect on the background of an image or that I will get noise issues at ISO 400.

    Other than that, I prefer to steal ideas from people.

  4. me to. I also like examples and when people talk like people not photographers. THe new york times has a guy who does that
    for example “Every camera manufacturer wants a bigger slice of that $42 billion digital-photography pie. So what do they do? They pile on bells and whistles. Smile recognition, anti-red-eye, blah, blah, blah. Truly revolutionizing the field really wouldn’t be so complicated, though. All someone would have to do is stick a big sensor into a small camera, and then let the euphoria begin” and “It’s what’s called an APS-C size sensor, the same size as what is in pro cameras like the Canon 40D and the Nikon D300. It measures about 1 inch diagonally. (Nobody ever expresses sensor sizes in this simple, logical way — S.L.R. makers do it in millimeters, compact-cam makers use bizarre ratios like 1/1.8 inches — but they should. People, rise up!)”.

Leave a Reply

