Canon EOS 5D Mark II:Throw out Your Digital Lenses Make 1080p Movies. BUT…..

If i get a new camera It might as well have a full sized sensor.  This would allow it the maximum compatibility with what already been built and sold.  The 4/3rds sensor in my Olympus 410 may be good enough now (though It really does blow out the highlights)  but I can’t see how it’s gonna continue to improve being so small.

I might be a bit peeved if I had invested in the canon EF-S lenses which aren’t compatible but I didn’t so whatever.  Another problem I have is that the viewscreen on the back doesn’t tilt and swivel. Why can’t this be an option?  I mean the companies seem to crow about the wide angle of viewing their screens have.  A swivel screen in the back would really improve things.   Also if one isn’t focusing manually why do you even need put your face up to the camera and look through that little hole unless you are just used to it.  Composition is more natural if one looks at the rectangle viewscreen held out in front of ones face a bit.  But most of the dorks who buy this camera are probably buying it to own it and part of ownership is knowing that people aren’t going to criticize your choice.  This is much more import than the actual use of the object.  When was the last time you saw someone in a porsche actually use it’s ability.

So here it is the holy grail of cameras for only 2,700 bucks sans lens.  Man I’d buy it. I want it! I also know that I’d use it.  I mean I take about 100+ photo’s every day. I Take HDR images to get around the dynamic range limitations of the Evolt 410 I have.  I stitch panoramas together to get around the resolution issues.  I’m lucky enough currently to be able to spend a good 8 to 10 hours a day taking and manipulating images.  Of course part of that freedom comes from the fact that I don’t get into owning things

I wonder though about the incredible qualities of these new cameras going to waste.  I mean think about it how many photographers do you know who are artists?  How many are just owners.  How many sunsets do you want to see.?  I know for the newspapers around here you don’t need anything more than a point and shoot to get a publishable photo.  And think about computer screen resolution.  I currently have a 1900×1200 pixel screen and that represents the highest resolution available at a reasonable price.  That certainly isn’t needing any better quality equipment to fill it up for most things.  All this is useless capability.

But on the other hand, on the artists hand.  I never have enough resolution.  Just the other day I made an HDR panorama that was like 19000×4000 pixels and I can’t afford to print it out.  I am dissapointed in every photo I take, all I have to do is look closer to find the flaws.  There doesn’t seem to be a venue for these high end photo’s, certainly not in the hick town I live in.  I guess the drive to create these things isn’t very rational but at least I’m not a person who buys something they won’t or can’t use just to have it.  Just think of all those empty houses and filled up storage sites we have in  America.

Anyway I will buy this camera if I can, I might have bought the minolta if I didn’t care about HD video.  I might have to settle for the nikon d90 because the price of the camera shouldn’t preclude the time needed to use it.

Hands On Preview

DPreview

The original panorama was 19,645x3767 pixels. It would take 30 of my monitors(1920x1200) to display it at its native resolution and the screen would be about 20 feet wide and 3.5 feet deap. Also each of the ten images I put into the panorama were made by combining three photographs at different exposures

The original panorama was 19,645x3767 pixels. It would take 30 of my monitors(1920x1200) to display it at it's native resolution and the screen would be about 20 feet wide and 3.5 feet deap. Also each of the ten images I put into the panorama were made by combining three photographs at different exposures

Leave a Reply

