Starving Student Deals For The Starving Artist:Strobist Studio Kits Cheap

Well I have been looking for ways to extend the my creative possibilities.  So I was reading about Flashes when I stumbled upon the strobist website. One might ask “hey how can you not know about that?”.  Well I really don’t know anything at all about “photography” I just know how to make really nice images with digital camera’s.

For example

Better Wash Action-Lightroom 1-Olympus E-410

Better Wash Action-Lightroom 1-Olympus E-410

Really that’s the only reason I continue to write this ridiculous blog. I know I can take great photographs but I no nothing at all about “photography”.

So back to the strobist. I wanted to be able to use artificial light to do still life crap indoors.  I researched a bunch of flashes and discovered they cost like 400 bucks(My camera +two kit lenses cost 599).  That is just insane. Luckily I quickly discovered that the extra money one pays for these flashes goes into all the auto sensing and setting circuitry.  Since I only take photographs in complete manual mode I totally willing to make all the flash settings myself.  That’s where the Strobist comes in.  He explained in detail what one needs to use a flash that is not on top of your camera.  The top of your camera flashes are in the wrong place if you want nice photos.  Anyhoo the make a long story less long there is a company that sell kits that contain the things recommended in the Strobist.  I bought the this one and they are now shipping me all this junk for only $239.00

1 – Vivitar 285HV Shoe Mount Flash
1 – 8ft. Air Cushioned Light Stand
1 – Paramount 15ft. Hot Shoe to household Male cord.
1 – Wein HSH Hotshoe to household adapter
1 – Westcott 43” Compact Umbrella – Silver
1 – Rosco Pro Color Correction Gel Pack
1 – DIY Grid, Barndoor, Snoot kit (not pictured below)
1 – CTA Ni-MH AA 4-pack Battery w/Rapid Charger
1 – Bongo Elastic Ties (10 pack)
1 – Umbrella Swivel
1 – Nano Gaffer Tape roll 1″x8yds

Yeah Crap for cheap

Yeah Crap for cheap

So this kit comes with a “professional flash” the Vivitar 285HV.

 Click photo to go to The ULTIMATE VIVITAR 285HV PAGE

Click photo to go to The ULTIMATE VIVITAR 285HV PAGE

Basically what you end up with is this

Click to start the Strobist Lighting 101 Article series

Click to start the Strobist Lighting 101 Article series

Now you can take photographs inside of your house without having to Photoshop the hell out of them.  See you get a cable that connects the flash to the hot shoe so you can mount the flash on a tripod and aim it at the umbrella-HOLD ON– there is this video to explain it

Of course all that might sound kinda like overkill.  Well it would be until you consider how much you may have spent on your camera and your lenses and all that software(Um Yeah paying for software…well ya see…about that..nevermind).  But seriously it is a common misconception that the camera is what makes a photograph really good.  No that is definantly not the case.  For example

4.2 mp SMALL SIZE 1/2.5 ccd SENSOR

I took this with a Nikon 4800: 4.2 mp SMALL SIZE 1/2.5 ccd SENSOR

Another from the same camera

Taken of my own eye with my $200(at the time)Nikon 4800

Taken of my own eye with my $200(at the time) Nikon 4800

Of course I used no artificial lighting for those images.  The eye photo was taken using direct sunlight. Sure the photo could have been less grainy but the point is it’s just better than alot of stuff coming out of a lot of expensive camera’s.  I think most people just need the reassurance thay are spending enough money on the equipment to merit the value they place on thier images but then that is why most photographers are actually just consumers who take photographs like a child plays with army men.  It’s all just make believe the action is in their own head.

One response to “Starving Student Deals For The Starving Artist:Strobist Studio Kits Cheap

  1. Wow. Just stumbled across your blog. VERY interesting and beautiful images here. Definitely have to keep reading and looking.
    I myself am working on my skills and playing around with my SB600 flash, but of course you dont need it to make good pictures. You can use it to take different kinds of good pictures though…

Leave a Reply

